Student Awards Ceremony Spring 2013


Undergraduate Awards

Graduate Awards

For more information, please contact:
Undergraduate - Fitz Walker, Phone: 301-405-5139 | Email: fwalker@umd.edu
Graduate - Ama DaMata, Phone: 301-405-4216 | Email: amata@umd.edu

2013 Award Recipients

Undergraduate Awards

Pi Tau Sigma Outstanding Service Award
  • Megan Frey

Presented to the senior member who has contributed most to the student chapter.

Pi Tau Sigma Memorial Award
  • Gregory Yu

Presented to the senior in Mechanical Engineering who has made the most outstanding contribution to the University.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers Senior Award
  • Pooja Rao

Presented to the senior member who has contributed most to the students chapter.

Society of Automotive Engineers Senior Award
  • Michael Kelly
  • William Pomplon

Presented to the senior member for outstanding service and contributions to the chapter.

Society  of Automotive Engineers Service Award

  • Carl Gunter

Presented to a member for outstanding service and contribution to the students chapter

Graduate Student Awards

APS Opportunities in Energy Research Workshop Travel Grant

  • Mohammad Alizadeh Nomeli
ARCS Foundation Scholarship

  • Christopher Hendricks

Supports U.S. citizens pursuing degrees in science, engineering and medical research

ASHRAE Graduate Student GrantinAid Fellowship

  • Rohit Andhare
  • Martinus Arie
  • Harish Ganapathy

Awarded on the basis of academics, research plan, faculty recommendation, , and potential for future involvement in ASHRAE; supports research in HVAC and refrigeration and may include publication of an article based on research in ASHRAE journal.

ASME/AIAA Terrestrial Energy Systems Best Paper

  • Ahmed Essam Eldin Khalil

 "Mixture Preparation Effects on Distributed Combustion for Gas Turbine Applications," with A.K. Gupta, Kenneth M. Bryden, and S.C. Lee.  AIAA Paper 20120930 named as Best Paper by the Terrestrial Energy Systems Technical Committee and presented at American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronomics Joint Propulsion Conference

ASME Computers and Information in Engineering (CIE) Conference Best Paper

  • Sagar Chowdhury

“Using GPUs for Real Time Prediction of Optical Forces on Microscopic Ensembles,” with Sujal Bista, S.K. Gupta, and Amitabh Varshney

ASME Dynamic Systems and Control Conference Student Travel Grant

  • Mingyen Ho
ASME Dynamic Systems and Control Conference Best Student Paper Finalist

  • Nima Fazeli

“Active NonIntrusive System Identification for Cardiovascular Monitoring, Part I: Excitation and Measurement Protocol Design”

ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition Student Travel Grant

  • Harish Ganapathy
  • Sandip Haldar
  • Haijun Liu
  • Nicholas Vlajic
ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition Applied Mechanics Division Haythornthwaite Travel Grant

  • Sandip Haldar
  • Zheng Jia
  • Shuze Zhu
Burgers Program for Fluid Dynamics, 40th Annual Symposium, Best Poster

  • Mohammad Alizadeh Nomeli

“Reactive Transport Modeling of Carbon Dioxide in Porous Media”

Council of Supply Chain Professionals Annual Global Conference Recognition, Donald J. Bowersox Doctoral Symposium

  • Amir Kashani Pour

Selected for Donald J. Bowersox Doctoral Symposium

Dean’s Doctoral Research Award

  • Sagar Chowdhury

Third place for “Planning for Automated Optical Micromanipulation of Biological Cells” in a collegewide competition for the Dean's Master’s Research Award and Dean's Doctoral Research Award, held during the Spring Board of Visitors meeting

Future Faculty Program Fellowship

  • Zohreh Ghorbaniardakani
  • Amir Kashani Pour
  • Raphael Mandel
  • Ryan Quenon Rudy
  • Zhijian Zhang
  • Shuze Zhu

The program consists of a sequence of three onecredit training seminars, a teaching practicum and a research mentoring practicum

GDF Suez Energy NA Graduate Fellowships

  • Long Huang
  • Sohil Popli

The recipients of the graduate fellowships are selected first and foremost based on their demonstrated interest in energy conversion together with excellent academic performance

Goldhaber Travel Grant

  • Zohreh Ghorbani

The Jacob K. Goldhaber Travel Grants are intended to help defray the expenses incurred by graduate students who are traveling to scholarly, scientific, or professional conferences to present papers, posters, or other scholarly material

Graduate Dean’s Dissertation Research Fellowship

  • Zheng Jia

Awarded 3rd out of 50 for the campus, for research excellence.

Graduate Research Interaction Day (GRID)

  • Mohammad Alizadeh Nomeli

First place for oral presentation of paper, “Porosity and permeability reduction due to reactive transport of CO2 in porous media”

  • Subhasis Mukherjee

First place for oral presentation, ”Multiscale modeling of effect of microalloying Mn and Sb on viscoplastic response of SnAgCu solder interconnects”

Graduate School Summer Research Fellowship

  • Zohreh Ghorbani
  • Shuze Zhu

Graduate Student Summer Research Fellowships provide support to outstanding doctoral students at “midcareer,” that is, in the period approximately before, during, or after achievement of candidacy, and are intended to enable students to prepare for or complete a key benchmark in their program’s requirements

International Conference on Robotics and Automation Travel Grant

  • Mingyen Ho
International Microelectronics Assembly and Packaging Society

  • Elviz George

45th International Symposium on Microelectronics Outstanding Paper Award

International Microelectronics Assembly and Packaging Society

  • Sandeep Menon

45th International Symposium on Microelectronics Best Student Paper Award

International PHM Conference Doctoral Consortium Recognition

  • Amir Kashani Pour

Selected for and #1 overall rank, Doctoral Consortium

L3 Fellowship

  • Raphael Mandel

Supports Ph.D. candidates in the last three years of a Clark School Ph.D. who conduct research at a university institute or center

Miss Willie M. Webb Reliability Engineering Fellowship

  • Victor Ontiveros
  • Reuel Smith

The Miss Willie M. Webb Reliability Engineering Fellowship assists and encourages women and minority graduate students in the area of reliability engineering

NASA Fellowship

  • Elizabeth Sauerbrunn

The goal of this fellowship program is to provide the nation with a pipeline of highly skilled engineers and technologists to improve America’s technological competitiveness

NSF Bridge to the Doctorate Fellowship

  • Celeste Poley
NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

  • Celeste Poley
  • Luke Roberts

The purpose of the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) is to help ensure the vitality and diversity of the scientific and engineering workforce in the United States

Pratt & Whitney Fellowship in Reliability Engineering

  • Elaheh Rabiei

Recognizes excellence in doctoral research in reliability engineering

Sloan Research Fellowship

  • Alexander McCollough
  • Celeste Poley

The Sloan Research Fellowships seek to stimulate fundamental research by earlycareer scientists and scholars of outstanding promise.  These twoyear fellowships are awarded yearly to 126 researchers in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field

Society of Plastics Engineers Lew Erwin Scholarship

  • Graeme Fukuda
U.S. Department of Energy MaxTech and Beyond Design Competition

  • Long Huang
  • Gang Li
  • Bracha Mandel
  • Sohil Popli
  • Suxin Qian
  • Michael Siemann
  • Oeyvind Vaaland (exchange student)

First place in design competition for ultralowenergyuse appliances and equipment

University of Maryland International Graduate Research Fellowship

  • Merine Zinsou
  • Wylie Dissertation Fellowship
  • Zheng Jia
  • Jiajun Xu

Back to top