Return to Faculty Directory

Dasgupta, Abhijit

Abhijit Dasgupta
Jeong H. Kim Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
2110C Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742

Research Interests 

  • Mechanics of electronic packaging materials and “smart” composite materials
  • Research focused on nanomechanics, micromechanics, damage mechanics and computational mechanics


Abhijit Dasgupta conducts his research on the mechanics of engineered, heterogeneous, active materials, with special emphasis on the micromechanics of constitutive and damage behavior.  He applies his expertise to several multifunctional material systems. His research contributions include solution techniques for coupled boundary value problems in multifunctional particulate and laminated composites, micromechanics approaches for constitutive properties of advanced 3-D composites, dynamic behavior and failure of thick composites, micromechanics of fatigue damage in viscoplastic eutectic-alloy composites and in short-fiber polymeric composites, and self-health monitoring in “smart” systems.  He applies these principles for developing effective virtual qualification tools, for optimizing manufacturing process windows, for real-time health monitoring and for devising quantitative accelerated testing strategies used in qualification and quality assurance of complex electronic, electromechanical and structural systems.  He has published over 150 journal articles and conference papers on these topics, presented over 20 short workshops nationally and internationally, served on the editorial boards of three different international journals, organized several national and international conferences, and received six awards for his contributions in materials engineering research and education.


Ph.D., University of Illinois, 1989

Honors and Awards 

Villanova University's Carl Humphrey Memorial Award, 2002

Professional Memberships and Service 

  • Associate Editor, ASME Journal of Electronic Packaging, 93-96
  • Member, Editorial Board, International Journal for Intelligent Material Systems and Structures, 1994-97

Selected Publications 


  • Darbha, K., and A. Dasgupta, “A Nested Finite Element Methodology for Stress Analysis of Electronic Products,” ASME Transactions in Electronic Packaging, Vol. 123, No. 2; Part I: Theory and Formulation, pp. 141-146; Part II: Durability Analysis of Flip Chip and Chip Scale Interconnects, pp. 147-155, 2001.
  • Dasgupta, A., P. Sharma, and K. Upadhyayula, “Micro-Mechanics of Fatigue Damage in Pb-Sn Solder Due to Vibration and Thermal Cycling,” International Journal of Damage Mechanics, Vol. 10, No. 2. pp. 101-132, 2001.
  • Shetty, S., V. Lehtinen, A. Dasgupta, V. Halkola, and T. Reinikainen, “Fatigue of Chip-Scale Package Interconnects due to Cyclic Bending,” ASME Transactions in Electronic Packaging, Vol. 123, No. 3, pp. 302-308, 2001.


  • Darbha, K., J. Okura, and A. Dasgupta, “Thermo-mechanical Durability of Flip Chip Interconnects,” ASME Transactions in Electronic Packaging, Vol. 121, Part I: Without Underfill, pp. 231-236; Part II: With Underfill, pp. 237-242, 2000.
  • Alghamdi, A., and A. Dasgupta, “Eigenstrain Techniques for Modeling Adaptive Structures: Part I: Active Stiffening; Part II: Active Damping,” Journal of Intelligent Material Systems and Structures, Vol. 11, No. 8, pp. 631-641, 2000.

Related News 

CALCE, ME Student, Hao Huang, Receives Outstanding Poster Award
Hao Huang received the Outstanding Poster Award at the 19th EureoSimE Conference in Toulouse, France. June 14, 2018

ME Faculty Part of NextFlex Award Winning Team
UMD faculty part of team to explore conformal sensors, 3-D antenna structures and non-planar circuit routing demonstrators. May 23, 2017

Kim Receives USM Regents’ Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching
University System of Maryland award recognizes Kim for his contributions to teaching. April 15, 2016

Han Receives ASME Mechanics Award
Professor Bongtae Han named 2016 recipient of ASME's Electronic & Photonic Packaging Division Mechanics Award. November 12, 2015

Li Awarded Society of Engineering Science Young Investigator Medal
Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor Teng Li receives 2016 SES Young Investigator Medal. November 11, 2015

Desai Named ASME Fellow
Mechanical Engineering Professor Jaydev Desai named ASME Fellow. May 28, 2015

Dasgupta Receives 2015 USM Regents' Faculty Award
University System of Maryland recognizes mechanical engineering faculty for excellence in scholarship. March 10, 2015

Dasgupta, Fourney and Hwang Named ASME Fellows
Three Mechanical Engineering faculty named American Society of Mechanical Engineers Fellows February 6, 2015

Dasgupta Awarded Jeong H. Kim Professorship
Department of Mechanical Engineering professor Abhijit Dasgupta awarded Jeong H. Kim Professorship. December 11, 2014

Faculty Honors Barker
Department of Mechanical Engineering faculty celebrate the service of Professor Donald Barker at annual emeritus luncheon. September 30, 2013

Mechanical Engineering Ph.D. Student Wins First Prize at GRID
Subhasis Mukherjee won in the Modeling and Simulation category at UMD’s Graduate Research Interaction Day. July 25, 2013

Three ME Graduate Students Receive Irwin Centennial Research Award
Meng, Sun, and Mahan receive award funding to support summer travel to technical conferences. June 10, 2013

Pradeep Sharma (Ph.D '00) Appointed Chair of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Houston
ME Alumnus takes over as head of Mechanical Engineering at Houston January 3, 2012

Gilbert Haddad Receives Best Paper Award
CALCE professors and students have strong showing at 2011 IEEE PHM Conference. August 2, 2011

Abhijit Dasgupta Wins 2010 Evans/McElroy Best Paper Award
ME professor recognized by IEEE and AIAA for contributions to reliability research. January 7, 2011

Abhijit Dasgupta Wins 2010 ASME EPPD Mechanics Award
ASME Electronic Packaging and Photonics Division honors ME professor. January 7, 2011

ME Alumnus Receives Prestigious ASME Award
Dr. Pradeep Sharma receives the Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award February 4, 2009

ME Grads Join University Faculty Across the Nation
Department congratulates ME alumni who recently joined the faculty of universities across the nation. November 8, 2007

ME Alumni News
Maryland ME alumni join prestigious law firms, other ME departments. June 27, 2007

Pi Tau Sigma Honors Faculty, Teaching Assistants
The Tau Mu Chapter of Pi Tau Sigma, honors Abhijit Dasgupta and Victor Ovchinnikov on December 13th. December 15, 2005

Bruck Presents Nanotech Course at ASME Nanotech Bootcamp
ASME Nano Training Bootcamp held July 12-15. July 15, 2005

Product-Realization based on Nanoscale Particles, Tubes, Fibers, Rods & Ribbons (PTFRR)
The focus is specifically on products engineered from nanoscale building blocks, such as particles, tubes, fibers, rods, and ribbons. October 25, 2004

Maryland's Tau Mu Chapter hosts 82nd National Pi Tau Sigma Convention
UMD's Tau Mu Chapter hosted the 82nd National Pi Tau Sigma Convention on the weekend of February 21-23, 2003. February 15, 2003

Dasgupta Honored by Alma Mater
Abhijit Dasgupta is the recipient of the Carl Humphrey Memorial Award. June 13, 2002

Alfred Gessow Rotorcraft Center Honored
The award will consist of a gold medal, a certificate, and an honorarium May 10, 2002