Return to Faculty Directory

DeVoe, Don

Don DeVoe
Professor & Associate Chair, Research
Affiliate Faculty, Bioengineering & Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Director, Maryland MEMS and Microfluidics Lab
Department of Mechanical Engineering
3139 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742

Research Interests 

  • MEMS
  • Microfluidic systems


Dr. DeVoe joined the University of Maryland, College Park in 1997. He has published over sixty journal articles and five book chapters in his field. He has served on the editorial boards of Sensor Letters and the Journal Clinical Bioinformatic Science.


  • Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1997
  • M.S., University of Maryland, College Park
  • B.S., University of Maryland, College Park

Honors and Awards 

  • NSF Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers for advances in microsystems technology (2000)
  • NSF CAREER Award (1999)

Professional Memberships and Service 

  • Member - ASME, IEEE and ACS
  • Associate Editor - Journal of MicroElectroMechanical Systems (J. MEMS).

Selected Publications 





  • J. Liu, C.F. Chen, C.W. Tsao, C.C. Chang, C.-C. Chu, D.L. DeVoe, "Polymer microchips integrating solid-phase extraction and high- performance liquid chromatography using reversed-phase polymethacrylate monoliths," Anal. Chem., 81, 2545-2554, 2009.


  • S. Yang, J. Liu, C.S. Lee, D.L. DeVoe, "Microfluidic 2-D PAGE using multifunctional in-situ polyacrylaminde gels and discontinuous buffers,"Lab Chip, 9, 592-599, 2009.
  • C.-W. Tsao, D.L. DeVoe "Bonding of thermoplastic microfluidics," Microfluidics and Nanofluidics, 6, 1-16, 2008.
  • C.F. Chen, J. Liu, L. Hromada, C.W. Tsao, C.C. Chang, D.L. DeVoe , "High-pressure needle interface for thermoplastic microfluidics," Lab Chip, 9, 50-55, 2008.
  • S. Yang, J. Liu, D.L. DeVoe, "Optimization of sample transfer in two- dimensional microfluidic separation systems," Lab Chip, 8, 1145-1152, 2008.
  • A. Jahn, J. Reiner, W. Vreeland, D.L. DeVoe, L. Locascio, M. Gaitan, "Preparation of nanoparticles by continuous-flow microfluidics," J. Nanoparticle Research, 10, 925-934, 2008.

Related News 

Fall eNewsletter Alumni Feature
Our featured alumni answer questions about their careers and where they see the field of engineering heading. July 15, 2017

Kim Receives USM Regents’ Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching
University System of Maryland award recognizes Kim for his contributions to teaching. April 15, 2016

Dasgupta Receives 2015 USM Regents' Faculty Award
University System of Maryland recognizes mechanical engineering faculty for excellence in scholarship. March 10, 2015

Recent Clark School Graduate Featured in Lab on a Chip
Renee Hood (Bioengineering, Ph.D., '14) and members of the Maryland MEMS and Microfluidics Lab earn cover story for July edition June 20, 2014

Ohadi Awarded USM Regents’ Faculty Award
Mechanical Engineering Professor Michael Ohadi recognized for Excellence in Innovation. March 19, 2014

REU in Miniature Robotics holds final project symposium
Nine projects range from wings for MAVs to vision sensors for small robots to small grasping hands. August 14, 2013

DeVoe Receives Board of Regents Award for Research
Mechanical engineering professor honored for microsystems and microfluidics research. March 25, 2013

Six Mechanical Engineering Students Selected for 2013 Future Faculty Program
Department has largest cohort in Clark School. February 22, 2013

Miniature Robotics REU students give final presentations
Ten undergrads from around the country give talks on their summer projects. August 10, 2012

ISR welcomes 10 REU microbotics students for the summer
Students will develop interdisciplinary research projects in 10-week program. June 4, 2012

Mechanical Engineering Professor Don DeVoe Promoted to Senior Editor of JMEMS
New position provides additional responsibilities for DeVoe with bimonthly MEMS journal.  April 12, 2012

Raghavan, DeVoe Introduce New Micromanufacturing Approach in Small
Lab-on-a-chip produces, assembles microparticles in customized order; could be used for drug discovery. November 3, 2011

Professor, researchers garner symposium honor
DeVoe, Liu and Yang receive HPLC award for poster presentation August 27, 2008

Professor, researchers garner symposium honor
DeVoe, Liu and Yang receive HPLC award for poster presentation August 27, 2008

Dr. DeVoe Gets Full Professor Nod
Microfluidics Lab director tapped for promotion June 19, 2008

ME Grads Join University Faculty Across the Nation
Department congratulates ME alumni who recently joined the faculty of universities across the nation. November 8, 2007

CALCE-Hanyang University Cooperation Established
In June a cooperative relationship between CALCE and Hanyang University in Korea was officially sanctioned by the Korean Government. July 15, 2006

2006 ME Research Review Day Highlights
Research Review Day held on March 20, 2006 at the University Inn and Conference Center. February 15, 2006

Mechanical Engineering Alumni in the News
ME Faculty alumni making the spotlight. February 15, 2006

Associate Professor Don DeVoe Issued Patents
Patents address technology designed which allows complex protein samples to be analyzed faster. February 7, 2006

ME Faculty Collaborate with Korean Colleagues
Cooperation between Maryland and Hanyang develops faculty expertise. February 7, 2006

First Hanyang University - UMD Workshop Held in Seoul, Korea
The first international workshop held at Hanyang University in Seoul, Korea on January 13, 2006. January 15, 2006

Mechanical Engineering Alumni News
Balaji Panchapakesan, Mary Lacey, and Steve Schrantz make news. October 15, 2005

NIH Proteomics Award to Benefit Cancer Research, Drug Development
The project is awarded by NIGMS through the interdisciplinary Bioengineering Research Partnerships (BRP) program. September 15, 2005

MIPS Program, Maryland Companies Award Funds to ME Faculty To Develop Technology-Based Products
Nearly $700K of that amount was awarded to ME faculty MIPS projects, detailed below. February 15, 2005

ME Celebrates Many New Additions
Congratulations to the ME families. January 15, 2005

ME Celebrates a Few New Additions
Congratulations to the Yang, DeVoe and Hazelwood families. December 15, 2004

Profs. Balachandran and Sandborn Winners of OTC Invention of the Year Competition
Professors Balakumar Balachandran and Peter Sandborn were the winners of two of the three (OTC) Invention of the Year Awards. April 15, 2003

S.K. Gupta Selected to Receive Presidential Early Career Award
Associate Professor Satyandra K. Gupta has been selected to receive a Presidental Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). July 1, 2002

3 ME Faculty Promoted to Associate Professor
Three ME Faculty are promoted from Assistant Professor to Associate Professor with tenure. March 27, 2002

5 ME Faculty Present Posters at ISR Research Review Day
ME Faculty showcased their research at the poster session of today's ISR Research Review Day. March 1, 2002

S.K. Gupta Selected to Receive Presidential Early Career Award
Assistant Professor Satyandra K. Gupta has been selected to receive a Presidental Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). December 13, 2001

MRI Award Granted to Research Team
This equipment will complement the department's deep reactive ion etcher (DRIE), previously awarded under a Navy DURIP grant August 13, 2001

Clark School Team Headed by Don DeVoe Awarded $2M DARPA Grant
A team from the A. James Clark School of Engineering has just been awarded a $2M grant from The Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency. July 5, 2001