2012 Faculty Recognition Breakfast


Friday, May 11, 2012
9:00 am

Mulligan's Grill and Pub
Golf Course
University of Maryland

For more information, please contact:
Felicia Stephenson, Phone: 301-405-5297 | Email: felicia@umd.edu

2012 Award Recipients
(May 2011 - May 2012)



  • Dr. Monifa Vaughn-Cooke
    Appointed Assistant Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Dr. Hratch Semerjian
    Appointed Visiting Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering


  • Prof. Hugh Bruck
    Appointed Associate Chair for Academic Affairs
  • Prof. Peter Sandborn
    Appointed Associate Chair for Research & Administration

EARLY CAREER AWARDS – (B. Balachandran)

Prof. Santiago Solares
DOE Early CAREER Award (Office of Basic Energy Sciences, U.S. Department of Energy)
“Trimodal Tapping Mode Atomic Force Microscopy: Simultaneous 4D Mapping of Conservative and Dissipative Probe‐Sample Interactions of Energy‐Relevant Materials”


Prof. Ken Kiger
2012 Regents Faculty Award for Teaching
University System of Maryland (USM) Board of Regents
This faculty award is the highest honor presented to USM faculty by the Board of Regents.

Prof. Michael Pecht
2011 Innovation Hall of Fame Inductee
A. James Clark School of Engineering
Inducted into the IHOF for making electronics more reliable, predicting when they will fail and enabling proactive programs to maintain them successfully.

Prof. Reinhard Radermacher (with Omar Abdelaziz)
University of Maryland Invention of the Year – Physical Sciences Category (runner-up)
“High-Density Thermal Storage Based Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning (HVAC) System”
Recognized for developing a hybrid thermal storage system by integrating a proprietary hot/cold storage system and vapor compressor heat pump system. This technology provides optimal hybrid electric/thermal storage capability, resulting in a cost effective high-density thermal storage based HVAC system.

Prof. Michael Zachariah
2011 Senior Faculty Outstanding Research Award
A. James Clark School of Engineering
Awarded for the development of new characterization tools for studying nanoparticles and use of these tools to further our understanding of the properties of nanoparticles.


Prof. Ashwani K. Gupta
Percy W. Nicholls Award (ASME & American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineering)
The award recognizes outstanding achievements in the field of solid fuels.

Prof. S.K. Gupta
Kos Ishii-Toshiba Award (ASME)
The award recognizes sustained meritorious contributions to the use of optimization and other modeling techniques to support design, manufacturing, and the cycle management decisions in product development.

Prof. C. D. (Dan) Mote, Jr.
2011 ASME  Medal
Dr. Mote is honored for remarkable leadership at two major universities and the development of a comprehensive theory describing the dynamics of such flexible moving structures as bands and discs.

Prof. Jan Sengers
Granted Life Membership in ASME

Prof. Michael Zachariah
David Sinclair Award (American Association for Aerosol Research - AAAR)
The David Sinclair Award recognizes sustained excellence in aerosol research and technology by an established scientist still active in his/her career. The individual's research must have a lasting impact in aerosol science.


Prof. S.K. Gupta (with A. Thakur and A. Banerjee )
Elsevier 2012 Most Cited Paper Award
“A Survey of CAD Model Simplification Techniques for Physics-based Simulation Applications”

Mr. Magnus Eisele, Dr. Yunho Hwang, and Prof. Reinhard Radermacher
Best Technical Paper Award - SAE/IMechE Vehicle Thermal Management Systems Conference (VTMS 10)
“Small-scale Dynamic Test Facility for Automotive Thermal Management Systems”

Prof. Sarah Bergbreiter (with W.A. Churaman and Aaron P. Gerratt)
New Technology Foundation (NTF) Award for Entertainment Robots and Systems ( IEEE/RSJ) International Conference on Intelligent Robots and Systems (IROS 2011)
“First Leaps Toward Jumping Microrobots”

Mr. Harish Ganapathy, Prof. Michael Ohadi (with E. Al-Hajri)
Honorable Mention Award - Young Engineer Paper (YEP) - ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition (IMECE Congress)
“Phase Field Method for Simulation of Multiphase Flow”

Prof. Peter Sandborn and Prof. Michael Pecht (with G. Haddad)
Best Paper Award - 2011 IEEE International Conference on Prognostics and Health Management
“Using Real Options to Manage Condition-Based Maintenance Enabled by PHM”

PATENTS – (K. Kiger)

Prof. Gregory Jackson (with B. Eichhorn and S. Zhou)
“Au-Pt Heteroaggregate Dendritic Nanostructures and Au-Pt Alloy Nanoparticles Their Use as Catalysts”
U.S. Patent 8,038,763; October 18, 2011

Prof. Miao Yu (with H. Bae and X. Zhang)
“Ultra-Miniature Fiber-Optic Pressure Sensor System and Method of Fabrication”
U.S. Patent 8,151,648; April 10, 2012

Prof. Elisabeth Smela (with P. Abshire)
“Cell-Based Sensing: Biological Transduction of Chemical Stimuli to Electrical Signals (Nose-On-a-Chip)”
U.S. Patent 8,152,992; April 10, 2012

KEYNOTES – (Michael Ohadi)

Prof. Michel Cukier

“Empirical Studies in Cybersecurity”
5th Workshop on Recent Advances on Intrusion-Tolerant Systems (Hong Kong)

Prof. Patrick McCluskey
“Reliability of Power Electronics Under Thermal Loading”
7th International Conference on Integrated Power Systems (Nuremberg, Germany)

Prof. C. D. (Dan) Mote, Jr.
“The 21st Century Global Innovation Environment”
23rd Biennial Conference on Mechanical Vibration and Noise (Washington, DC)

Prof. Michael Pecht
“Battery Management Systems- The Key Challenge to the Electric Vehicle”
2nd International Conference on Electric Information and Control Engineering (Lushan, China)

“Battery Health and Safety Management”
2012 Prognostics and Health Management Solutions Conference (Dayton, Ohio)

Prof. Peter Sandborn
“Making Business Cases to Support Obsolescence Management”
7th Component Obsolescence Group (COG) International Conference (York, England)

“PHM Enabled Logistics - Return on Investment and Availability Management”
2011 Prognostics and System Health Management Conference (Shenzhen, China)

“The Cost and Availability Impacts of the Incorporation of Prognostics and Health Management into Systems”
Vehicle Health and Prognostic Management Symposium (UK Defense Academy)


  • Prof. Avi Bar-Cohen - Elected to the Board of Governors of the IEEE Components, Packaging, and Manufacturing Technology Society
  • Dr. Yunho Hwang - Named Chairperson of the International Institute of Refrigeration (IIR) Working Party on Life Cycle Climate Performance Evaluation (LCCP)