Discover what we're building

Admissions and Recruitment

First-Year Students

Prospective undergraduates are encouraged to attend a Clark School Engineering Information Session. You should also visit the University of Maryland Office of Undergraduate Admissions for application information and general campus tours.

To apply to the Clark School, submit an application to the Office of Undergraduate Admissions:

Office of Undergraduate Admissions
Mitchell Building
College Park, MD 20742
301-314-8385
800-422-5867

Transfer Students

If you have been accepted as a Scholars program student at University of Maryland and completed the transfer application to become a student in the Clark School but have not heard back if you were accepted, contact:

LEP Coordinator
Office of Undergraduate Admissions
Mitchell Building
301-314-8385
lep@umd.edu

Graduate Students

Prospective graduate students are encouraged to take a Terrapin Tour and explore our Research and Faculty Directory to learn more about work underway in Mechanical Engineering. 

Mechanical Engineering Graduate Office

Kerri Poppler James
Associate Director for Graduate Studies
2178 Glenn L. Martin Hall
Phone: 301-405-8601 | Email: kjames3@umd.edu


Chair's Office

Dr. Balakumar Balachandran, Professor & Chair
2181B Glenn L. Martin Hall, College Park, MD 20742
Phone: 301-405-5309  |  Email: balab@umd.edu

Kimberley Lavin Frye, Assistant to the Chair & Coordinator for Faculty Affairs
2181A Glenn L. Martin Hall, College Park, MD 20742
Phone: 301-405-3031  |  Email: kfrye@umd.edu


Business Office

Lisa Schuetz, Director of Operations
2181C Glenn L. Martin Hall, College Park, MD 20742
Phone: 301-405-6580  | Email: lschuetz@umd.edu


Computer & Network Administration

Dan Wysling, Assistant Director
0139 Glenn L. Martin Hall, College Park, MD 20742
Phone: 301-405-4483  |  Email: dwysling@umd.edu


Alumni Relations

Heather Medina
Director of Alumni Engagement & Outreach
3212 Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building
Phone: 301-405-3303 | Email: hmedina@umd.edu


Engineering Career Services

Heidi Sauber
Director
1131 Glenn L. Martin Hall
Phone: 301-405-3863 | Email: hsauber@umd.edu


Media Relations

Mark Fitzgerald
Senior Communications Coordinator
1147 A. V. Williams Building
Phone: 301-405-4028 | Email: mfitzge5@umd.edu


Top