Das Named Institute of Physics Fellow

Recognizing his achievements as leader in his field, the Institute of Physics (IOP) has selected University of Maryland (UMD) mechanical engineering professor Siddhartha Das as an IOP Fellow.

The organization, a leading professional body and community of scholars, is based in the United Kingdom and Ireland. In addition to a wide range of outreach activities, the IOP is an internationally recognized science publisher.

"I feel extremely honored to receive this highly prestigious recognition,” Das said. “IOP, which is based in the United Kingdom and Ireland, is one of the largest international organizations for physicists in the world.“

“Being recognized as a Fellow of this organization makes me feel that my research is being valued extremely highly in the area of soft matter physics, fluid physics, and physics of interfacial phenomena,” he said.

A member of the UMD mechanical engineering faculty since 2014, Das has authored 149 journal publications, including papers in Nature Materials, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences USA, Physical Review Letters, Journal of the American Chemical Society, Nucleic Acids Research, Advanced Materials, Advanced Functional Materials, ACS Nano, Macromolecules, ACS Applied Materials and Interfaces, Journal of Fluid Mechanics, Physics of Fluids, Soft Matter, Journal of Chemical Physics, Matter, Journal of Physical Chemistry, Journal of Applied Physics, and Scientific Reports.

His research interests span different areas of micro-nanoscale fluid mechanics and interactions of soft matter and complex interfaces with fluid mechanics. Most recently, Das has investigated the chemical properties of polyelectrolyte brushes, collaborated with National Institutes of Health in devising a way to identify cell defects more quickly, and studied how nanotech could yield improvements in lithium batteries.

In addition to the IOP, Das is also a Fellow of the prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry (a leading international society of chemists) and a member of the American Physical Society, the American Society for Mechanical Engineers, and the Materials Research Society.




Published February 3, 2021