Eisele, Hwang, and Radermacher Win Best Technical Paper Award

news story image

Dr. Yunho Hwang, CEEE Associate Director and Magnus Eisele, ME Ph.D. Candidate

“We are very pleased and honored with the recognition.”

Dr. Yunho Hwang, CEEE Associate Director

Mechanical Engineering Ph.D. candidate Magnus Eisele; Associate Director of the Center for Environmental Energy Engineering (CEEE), Professor Yunho Hwang; and Director of the CEEE, Professor Reinhard Radermacher received the Best Technical Paper Award at the Society of Automotive Engineers/Institution of Mechanical Engineers (SAE/IMechE) Vehicle Thermal Management Systems Conference (VTMS 10), held earlier this summer in Warwickshire, England. VTMS 10 covered the latest research and technological advances in the fields of heat transfer, energy management, and thermal systems management. The organizing committee and voting attendees selected the winner of the Best Technical Paper Award from the 58 papers presented at the conference.

The award-winning paper, “Small-scale Dynamic Test Facility for Automotive Thermal Management Systems”, detailed how Eisele, Hwang and Radermacher combined physical mobile air-conditioning (MAC) components with a virtual model of a passenger cabin to simulate thermal loads and psychrometric processes inside the cabin. The process allowed for measurement of both steady-state and transient performance characteristics of MAC components. The experiment was conducted inside the CEEE test facility for novel drive cycle testing, which is unique for enabling fast and cost effective comparison of MAC components in realistic climate and driving conditions.

Dr. Hwang presented the award-winning paper at the conference and remarked on the honor, “We are very pleased and honored with the recognition.”

For more information on this award, please visit the CEEE website.

Published August 24, 2011