The advent of Spring at the University of Maryland has brought with it numerous outstanding faculty awards and accomplishments in the Department of Mechanical Engineering:

Chair and Professor of Mechanical Engineering Avram Bar-Cohen has been selected to be an Editor of the prestigious and long running publication Advances in Heat Transfer in 2005. This publication reviews articles or monographs on special topics in heat transfer of current interest.

Professor of Reliability Engineering Mohammad Modarres has received the Food and Drug Administration’s Commissioner’s Special Citation as a member of the Risk Analysis Professional Development Team. Prof. Modarres was selected for this award for providing invaluable assistance to FDA providing tools for improving food safety and decision-making.

Professors Hugh Bruck and Omar Ramahi will be promoted to Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering with tenure in July 2004.

Associate Professor Guangming Zhang has been selected to receive the 2003 Poole and Kent Company Senior Faculty Teaching Award. This award consists of a handsome wall plaque and a prize of $1,000. Dr. Zhang was selected for this award as a testament to the impact that he has made on education and the curriculum in the college.

Assistant Professor Elias Balaras has received the prestigious Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award for his work on Large-Eddy Simulation of Turbulent Flows with Dynamically Moving Boundaries. The NSF Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program fosters the career development of outstanding junior faculty, combining the support of research and education of the highest quality and in the broadest sense.

Assistant Professor Bao Yang received the 2004 ORAU Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award. The award provides seed money for research by junior faculty at Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) member institutions. The awards are intended to enrich the research and professional growth of young faculty and result in new funding opportunities. This award represents public recognition by academic peers of the quality and promise of Dr. Yang's research, specifically with his research on nanostructured materials for thermoelectric application and superlattice structures.

Congratulations to these outstanding faculty members of the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

Published April 15, 2004