Professors Wallace, Duncan Elected to Ameican Physical Society Division Executive Committee

Mechanical Engineering Professors James Wallace and James Duncan have been elected to the Executive Committee of the American Physical Society’s Division of Fluid Dynamics (APS-DFD).

The Division of Fluid Dynamics of the American Physical Society exists for the advancement and diffusion of knowledge of the physics of fluids with special emphasis on the dynamical theories of the liquid, plastic and gaseous states of matter under all conditions of temperature and pressure. This division is the principal professional organization for over five-thousand fluid dynamicists in the U.S. and abroad.

Professor Wallace will be serving as Chair of the committee for one year. He served the DFD as Vice Chair in November 2001 and Chair-Elect in 2003. He will continue to be on the Executive Committee in November 2004 as Past-Chair.

Professor Duncan has been elected Secretary-Treasurer for a three-year term.

Congratulations to Professor Wallace and Professor Duncan for this outstanding elevation of service within this prestigious professional organization.

Published February 15, 2004