2009 Student Awards Ceremony

news story image

Gabe Affandy and Charlie Choe receive the “Department Chair’s Award for Leadership and Service” from presenter Dr. Bigio.

“It’s always a pleasure to organize an event like this--specifically for the students.”

Felicia Stephenson, Faculty Affairs Coordinator

The Department of Mechanical Engineering held their 2009 Student Awards ceremony on Friday, May 1. The event is held annually to recognize student recipients of awards, scholarships and fellowships from the current academic year.

“I am always impressed and amazed by the leadership and academic excellence of our ME students,” said undergraduate advisor Terry Island, who helped put the program together. “They excel not only in the classroom but are making significant contributions--both on campus and within the community.”

Students and faculty gathered in the Kay Boardrooms of the Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building for light refreshments as award recipients each received a certificate and a round of applause as professors and students alike recognized them for their achievements.

Felicia Stephenson, the coordinator of faculty affairs, once again melded the Clark School and university awards all into one event. “It’s always a pleasure to organize an event like this--specifically for the students,” noted Stephenson. “Our students are truly outstanding!”

For the complete list of student award winners, click on this link: http://www.enme.umd.edu/awards/awards09.html.

Published May 5, 2009