Faculty Directory

Mote Jr., C.D. (Dan)

Mote Jr., C.D. (Dan)

Regents Professor & Glenn L. Martin Institute Professor of Engineering
Former President of University of Maryland, College Park
Mechanical Engineering


Dr. Mote received the B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from the University of California, Berkeley.


Prior to assuming the Presidency at Maryland, Dr. Mote served on the University of California, Berkeley faculty for 31 years. From 1991 to 1998, he was Vice Chancellor at Berkeley, held an endowed chair in Mechanical Systems and was President of the UC Berkeley Foundation. He led a comprehensive capital campaign for Berkeley that raised $1.4B. He earlier served as chair of Berkeley's Department of Mechanical Engineering and led the department to its number one ranking in the National Research Council review of graduate program effectiveness.


President Mote has received numerous awards and honors, including the Humboldt Prize awarded by the Federal Republic of Germany. He is a recipient of the Berkeley Citation, an award from the University of California-Berkeley similar to the honorary doctorate, and was named Distinguished Engineering Alumnus. He has received two honorary doctorates. Additional awards include:

  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Medal (2011)
  • Founders Award, National Academy of Engineering, in recognition of a comprehensive body of work on the dynamics of moving flexible structures and for leadership in academia (2005)
  • J. P. Den Hartog Award, ASME International Technical Committee on Vibration and Sound, in honor of lifetime contribution to teaching and/or practice of vibration engineering (2005)
  • Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2004)
  • Honorary doctorates from Tashkent State Technical University (2001), The Ohio State University (2001) and Carnegie Mellon University (2004)
  • The Berkeley Citation (1998), Distinguished Engineering Alumnus (2001) and Excellence in Achievement (2007), University of California
  • Elected to U.S. National Academy of Engineering (1988)
  • Named one of the 50 most "Influential Marylanders" by The Daily Record (2007)
  • Washingtonian Magazine's Washingtonian of the Year (2005)
  • Named one of the 20 most influential Business Leaders in Washington, DC by Business Forward Magazine (2001 and 2002)
  • Champion of Diversity Award, University of Maryland President's Commission on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Issues (2009)


He is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and serves on its Council, and is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He was elected to Honorary Membership in the ASME International, its most distinguished recognition, and is a Fellow of the International Academy of Wood Science, the Acoustical Society of America, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.


  • President, National Academy of Engineering (NAE) (2013)
  • Executive Committee, National Research Council (2009-2011)
  • Chair, National Research Council Committee on Global Science and Technology Strategies and their Effects on U.S. National Security (2009-2010)
  • Treasurer, National Academy of Engineering (2009-2013)
  • Steering Committee, Council on Competitiveness: Energy Security, Innovation and Sustainability (2009-2011)
  • Board of Directors and Audit Committee, National Academies Corporation (2010-present)
  • International Council of Confucius Institute Headquarters, Beijing, China (2009-present)
  • Economic Advisor, Government of Jiangsu Province, People's Republic of China (2005-2009)
  • Trustee and Audit Committee, Universities Research Association (2008-present)
  • National Academies Committee on Science, Engineering and Public Policy (COSEPUP) (2007-present)
  • Co-Chair, National Academies Government University Industry Research Roundtable (GUIRR) (2007-present)
  • Commission to Develop the Maryland Model for Funding Higher Education (2007-2009)
  • National Academies Committee on Science, Security and Prosperity (COSSP) (2007-2008)
  • National Academies Committee on Scientific Communication and National Security (CSCANS) (2005-2007)
  • Founding Member, FBI National Security Higher Education Advisory Board (2004-present)
  • Governing Board, National Research Council (2007-2008)
  • National Research Council Committee on Prospering in the Global Economy of the 21st Century: An Agenda for American Science and Technology (2005)
  • Vice Chair, National Research Council Committee on Department of Defense Basic Research (2004)

Dr. Mote's research lies in dynamic systems and biomechanics. Internationally recognized for his research on the dynamics of gyroscopic systems and the biomechanics of snow skiing.

He has produced more than 300 publications, holds patents in the U.S., Norway, Finland and Sweden, and has mentored 56 Ph.D. students.


American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

National Academy of Engineering (NAE)

Other professional society fellows

  • International Academy of Wood Science
  • The Acoustical Society of America