Faculty Directory

Baz, Amr

Baz, Amr

Minta Martin Professor
Keystone Professor
Director, Smart Materials and Structures Research Center
Mechanical Engineering
2137 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088



Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1973




  • Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (1996)
  • Who’s Who of American Inventors (1996)
  • Engineering Alumni Association Outstanding Faculty Research Achievement Award (1997)
  • ASME Adaptive Structures and Material Systems Award (2009)
  • Pi Tau Sigma Purple Camshaft Teaching Award (2009)
  • SPIE Smart Structures and Materials Lifetime Achievement Award (2011).
  • Distinguished Teaching-Scholar Award - University of Maryland (2015)




Associate Editor, Vibration and Control Journal, Intl. Journal of Smart Structures & Systems, and Journal of Mechanics of Advanced Materials and Structures.

Associate Editor, Journal of Acoustics, MDPI AG (Basel, Switzerland)

Associate Editor, Journal of Vibration, MDPI AG (Basel, Switzerland)


Active and passive control of vibration and noise Active constrained layer damping Magnetic composites Active acoustic metamaterials

Y. Alsaffar, S. Sassi, and A. Baz, “Band Gap Characteristics of Non-Rotating Passive Periodic Drill String” ASME Journal of Vibration and Acoustics, Vol. 140, No. 2, pp. 021004-021004-12. doi:10.1115/1.4037851, 2017.

A. Baz, “Active nonreciprocal acoustic metamaterials using a switching controller”, Journal of the Acoustical Society of America, Vol. 143, No. 3, https://doi.org/10.1121/1.5026510, 2018.

Y. Alsaffar, S. Sassi, and A. Baz, “Band Gap Characteristics of Periodic Gyroscopic Systems” Journal of Sound and Vibration, Vol. 435, p. 301-322, 2018.

W. Akl and A. Baz, “Dynamic behavior and damping characteristics of carbon black polymer composites at high strain rates ", Advances in Polymer Technology, DOI: 10.1002/adv.22120; pp.1–12, 2018.

W. Akl, M. Nouh, O. Aldraihem, and A. Baz, "Energy Dissipation Characteristics of Polyurea and polyurea/carbon black composites", Mechanics of Time-Dependent Materials,DOI: 10.1007/s11043-018-9397-9, 2018.

A Baz, “Active acoustic metamaterial with tunable effective density using a disturbance rejection controller”, Journal of Applied Physics, Vol.125 (7), 074503, 2019.

A M Baz, “Nonreciprocal metamaterial with programmable nonlinear virtual resistors”, The Journal of the Acoustical Society of America, Vol. 145 (3), 1686-1686, 2019.

A. Baz, “Active nonreciprocal metamaterial using an eigen-structure assignment control strategy”, The Journal of the Acoustical Society of America, Vol.147, No. 4, pp. 2656-2669 https://doi.org/10.1121/10.0001157, 2020.

 K. Petrover, A. Baz, Finite element modeling of one-dimensional nonreciprocal acoustic        metamaterial with anti-parallel diodes, The Journal of the Acoustical Society of America, Vol. 148, No 1, pp. 334-346, 2020.

 A. Baz, “Active synthesis of a gyroscopic-nonreciprocal acoustic metamaterial”, The Journal of the Acoustical Society of America, Vol. 148, No. 3, pp.1271-1288, 2020.

S. Raval, K. Petrover, and A. Baz,Experimental characterization of a one-dimensional nonreciprocal acoustic metamaterial with anti-parallel diodes”, Journal of Applied physics, 128, doi: 10.1063/5.0019896, 2020.

 Yaqoub Abdullah and A. Baz, “Brake Squeal: A Control Strategy Using Shunted Piezoelectric Pads”, ASME Journal of Vibrations and Acoustics, Vol. 143, No. 3: 031005 (8pages), https://doi.org/10.1115/1.4048393 Jun 2021.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)