Faculty Directory

Dasgupta, Abhijit

Dasgupta, Abhijit

Jeong H. Kim Professor
Associate Chair for Academic Affairs
Director of Graduate Studies
Mechanical Engineering
2174 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088


Ph.D., University of Illinois, 1989


Abhijit Dasgupta conducts his research on the mechanics of engineered, heterogeneous, active materials, with special emphasis on the micromechanics of constitutive and damage behavior.  He applies his expertise to several multifunctional material systems. His research contributions include solution techniques for coupled boundary value problems in multifunctional particulate and laminated composites, micromechanics approaches for constitutive properties of advanced 3-D composites, dynamic behavior and failure of thick composites, micromechanics of fatigue damage in viscoplastic eutectic-alloy composites and in short-fiber polymeric composites, and self-health monitoring in “smart” systems.  He applies these principles for developing effective virtual qualification tools, for optimizing manufacturing process windows, for real-time health monitoring and for devising quantitative accelerated testing strategies used in qualification and quality assurance of complex electronic, electromechanical and structural systems.  He has published over 150 journal articles and conference papers on these topics, presented over 20 short workshops nationally and internationally, served on the editorial boards of three different international journals, organized several national and international conferences, and received six awards for his contributions in materials engineering research and education.


Villanova University's Carl Humphrey Memorial Award, 2002


  • Associate Editor, ASME Journal of Electronic Packaging, 93-96
  • Member, Editorial Board, International Journal for Intelligent Material Systems and Structures, 1994-97

Mechanics of electronic packaging materials and “smart” composite materials Research focused on nanomechanics, micromechanics, damage mechanics and computational mechanics


  • Darbha, K., and A. Dasgupta, “A Nested Finite Element Methodology for Stress Analysis of Electronic Products,” ASME Transactions in Electronic Packaging, Vol. 123, No. 2; Part I: Theory and Formulation, pp. 141-146; Part II: Durability Analysis of Flip Chip and Chip Scale Interconnects, pp. 147-155, 2001.
  • Dasgupta, A., P. Sharma, and K. Upadhyayula, “Micro-Mechanics of Fatigue Damage in Pb-Sn Solder Due to Vibration and Thermal Cycling,” International Journal of Damage Mechanics, Vol. 10, No. 2. pp. 101-132, 2001.
  • Shetty, S., V. Lehtinen, A. Dasgupta, V. Halkola, and T. Reinikainen, “Fatigue of Chip-Scale Package Interconnects due to Cyclic Bending,” ASME Transactions in Electronic Packaging, Vol. 123, No. 3, pp. 302-308, 2001.


  • Darbha, K., J. Okura, and A. Dasgupta, “Thermo-mechanical Durability of Flip Chip Interconnects,” ASME Transactions in Electronic Packaging, Vol. 121, Part I: Without Underfill, pp. 231-236; Part II: With Underfill, pp. 237-242, 2000.
  • Alghamdi, A., and A. Dasgupta, “Eigenstrain Techniques for Modeling Adaptive Structures: Part I: Active Stiffening; Part II: Active Damping,” Journal of Intelligent Material Systems and Structures, Vol. 11, No. 8, pp. 631-641, 2000.

Prof. Dasgupta Named ME Director of Graduate Studies

Prof. Abhijit Dasgupta named Mechanical Engineering Director of Graduate Studies

Profs. Dasgupta, McCluskey and Students Present at ITherm 2018

CALCE students present at ITherm conference, professors lead HIR task force

ME Faculty Part of NextFlex Award Winning Team

UMD faculty part of team to explore conformal sensors, 3-D antenna structures and non-planar circuit routing demonstrators.

Han Receives ASME Mechanics Award

Professor Bongtae Han named 2016 recipient of ASME's Electronic & Photonic Packaging Division Mechanics Award.

Li Awarded Society of Engineering Science Young Investigator Medal

Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor Teng Li receives 2016 SES Young Investigator Medal.

Dasgupta Receives 2015 USM Regents' Faculty Award

University System of Maryland recognizes mechanical engineering faculty for excellence in scholarship.

Dasgupta, Fourney and Hwang Named ASME Fellows

Three Mechanical Engineering faculty named American Society of Mechanical Engineers Fellows

Dasgupta Awarded Jeong H. Kim Professorship

Department of Mechanical Engineering professor Abhijit Dasgupta awarded Jeong H. Kim Professorship.

Faculty Honors Barker

Department of Mechanical Engineering faculty celebrate the service of Professor Donald Barker at annual emeritus luncheon.

Abhijit Dasgupta Wins 2010 Evans/McElroy Best Paper Award

ME professor recognized by IEEE and AIAA for contributions to reliability research.

Abhijit Dasgupta Wins 2010 ASME EPPD Mechanics Award

ASME Electronic Packaging and Photonics Division honors ME professor.

Pi Tau Sigma Honors Faculty, Teaching Assistants

The Tau Mu Chapter of Pi Tau Sigma, honors Abhijit Dasgupta and Victor Ovchinnikov on December 13th.

Dasgupta Honored by Alma Mater

Abhijit Dasgupta is the recipient of the Carl Humphrey Memorial Award.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)

Other professional society fellows

  • Society of Engineering Sciences