Evaluating, managing and improving risk and reliability in complex systems

Mechanical Engineering researchers are using integrated computational and experimental approaches to evaluating and managing risk and reliability in complex systems such as developing risk-based path planning for UAV operations. The department is home to the Center for Risk and Reliability, one of the largest and most comprehensive degree granting graduate programs in the field of reliability and risk analysis of engineered systems and processes.


Associated Faculty

Shapour Azarm

Professor
301-405-5250 | azarm@umd.edu
Profile

Aris Christou

Professor
301-405-5208 | christou@umd.edu
Profile

Michel Cukier

Associate Professor of Reliability Engineering
301-314-2804 | mcukier@umd.edu
Profile

Katrina Groth


| kgroth@umd.edu
Profile

Bongtae Han

Professor
301-405-5255 | bthan@umd.edu
Profile

Jeffrey Herrmann

Professor
301-405-5433 | jwh2@umd.edu
Profile

F. Patrick McCluskey

Professor
301-405-0279 | mcclupa@umd.edu
Profile

Mohammad Modarres

Nicole Y. Kim Eminent Professor
301-405-5226 | modarres@umd.edu
Profile

Michael Pecht

George E. Dieter Professor
301-405-5323 | pecht@umd.edu
Profile

Monifa Vaughn-Cooke

Assistant Professor
301-405-9857 | mvc@umd.edu
Profile

Top