News Story

Ashwani Gupta Receives the Percy Nicholls Award

Ashwani Gupta Receives the Percy Nicholls Award

Askwani K. Gupta, Distinguished University Professor
Askwani K. Gupta, Distinguished University Professor

Professor Ashwani K. Gupta was awarded the Percy Nicholls Award for Notable Scientific or Practical Contributions in the Field of Solid Fuels at the 36th International Technical Conference on Clean Coal & Fuel Systems, held June 5-9, 2011 in Clearwater, FL. Established in 1942 to commemorate Mr. Nicholls' contributions to the science and technology of fuel utilization, the award, jointly sponsored by the Power Division of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and the Coal Division of the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineering (AIME), recognizes outstanding achievements in the field of solid fuels.

Gupta’s legacy of research and academic service benefits all who rely on solid fuels, as evidenced by his numerous publications and extensive time as an educator and mentor. His contributions in the areas of gasification and pyrolysis of solid fuels have led to cleaner and more efficient combustion of biomass, coal, waste and low grade fuels. Gupta’s major achievements in the field of solid fuels include the development of ultra-high temperature steam gasification that provides negligible char and tar and high heating value syngas, a technology now used to recover energy from a wide range of solid materials. He has also conducted notable research in distributed combustion with controlled temperature in furnaces combined with high and uniform heat flux in the entire combustion zone at high efficiency; ultra-low emissions of NOx, CO and particulate matter; and high efficiency biofuels production. In addition to his research achievements, Gupta is noted for providing sustained future workforce development to future engineers.

Gupta is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), and the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE). He has received several honors and awards for his research and professional activity, including the ASME George Westinghouse Gold Medal Award, ASME James Harry Potter Gold Medal Award, ASME James N. Landis Medal Award, ASME Worcester Reed Warner Medal, and the ASME Holley Medal. He is also the recipient of the University of Maryland College of Engineering Research Award and the University of Maryland President Kirwan Award.

Related Articles:
Davis to Serve as Faculty Mentor for NSF-Funded Global STEWARDS Program
Gupta Awarded ASME Soichiro Honda Medal
Duncan Receives Wilson H. Elkins Professorship
Bar-Cohen to Receive ASME 75th Anniversary Medal
Pecht Receives Distinguished Achievement Award
Associate Professor Teng Li Wins E. Robert Kent Outstanding Teaching Award
Yit Akyuz wins Second Place at 2012 AIAA Region I Young Professional, Student, and Education Conference
Preeti Chauhan Wins Best Student Paper Award
Ohadi Honored with ASHRAE Exceptional Service Award
Sharon Awarded Newport Spectra-Physics Research Excellence Travel Grant

July 25, 2011

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Glodon Software Gift to Support Advancements in Smart Construction

Application window open: AAAS Mass Media Science and Engineering Fellows

Prof. Dasgupta Named ME Director of Graduate Studies

Alumna Wins Leading Women Award

Students Earn Second Place for ExoHand Design 

The App that Fights Congestion, Emissions

Materials Science Undergrad Receives Scholarship at 2018 Clean Energy Summit

Can Cascading Pools Help Restore the Chesapeake Bay?

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar

Additional Resources

UM Newsdesk

Faculty Experts